Home > Uncategorized > Men with necklaces and rings–a Christian perspective

Men with necklaces and rings–a Christian perspective

In the church circles I’m from, men are prohibited from wearing necklaces. At college, it was also prohibited. I remember returning home from basic training and someone at church told me men don’t wear necklaces.

I pulled out my “necklace” and showed them my dog tags.

These days, I have a cross necklace that I wear on a leather string. I purchased the cross pendant two years ago at an engine show and finally got it made into a necklace. Problem is, the clasp above the cross keeps coming undone, causing the cross to fall down my shirt.

I actually have a rough sketch of a cross pendant that won’t come apart. All I have to do is find a machinist or blacksmith.

Same goes for rings. I wear a wedding ring and also would like to wear a ring on my right ring finger. I have a few designs in mind for a few rings to rotate.

I find myself wondering how it came about among some Christian circles that men were not supposed to wear any necklaces. Anyone care to enlighten me? Perhaps it’s just a preference that evolved into a conviction.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. Matthew Sutton
    September 23, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Totally agree – talk about taking the passage about how women shouldn’t look like men way out of context 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

