Home > Uncategorized > What’s in store for ‘Richard’s Two Shekels’

What’s in store for ‘Richard’s Two Shekels’

Over the past few months, I have grown extremely dissatisfied with myself over my lack of consistency with this blog. It’s laziness at best, a sin at worst.

There’s no reason, I tell myself, that this blog shouldn’t be updated daily. Updating it once a month is inexcusably lazy in a time when each day should matter for a Christian. I like to view Richard’s Two Shekels as a ministry that some might receive blessings from.

I started thinking of ways I could get back into the habit of blogging daily. One solid idea: read the Bible on a daily basis and blog about what I read, what happened in the scripture passage, what I understood about it and how it can be applied.

Too easy.

It’s too unoriginal to start at Matthew and Genesis, so I plan something different. I’ll still read through the Bible but what I will likely do is start in the Minor Prophets of the Old Testament and perhaps in Paul’s Epistles in the New Testament. Nothing like visiting territory not traveled into in a long time. I do it because by the time my life is done, I’d like to have at least a basic understanding of every book in the Bible. In one of his books, Jack Chick talked about how embarrassing it would be for a Christian to meet Habakkuk in heaven and tell him, “I’m sorry, but I don’t know the first thing about your book.” Habakkuk would no doubt cringe if someone asked him, “Mr. Habakkuk, were you called a ‘Minor Prophet’ because you were less than 18 years old when you wrote your book?”

I may also post layman commentaries I’ve already completed over various chunks of the Bible. Please keep in mind I’m no Dr. Chuck Swindoll, and I’m certainly not C.S. Lewis. I’m just a reader of God’s Word who tries to echo how it speaks to me.

Keep in touch. If you have any questions or suggestions, drop me a line below or e-mail me at richardstwoshekels@gmail.com. Meanwhile, I pray this blog ends up being a blessing to you.

— Richard Zowie

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

