Home > Uncategorized > Are Christians oblivious towards Satan and what he wants to do?

Are Christians oblivious towards Satan and what he wants to do?

He hates Christians and wants to destroy their testimonies, their lives and their careers.

Yes, I know some will roll their eyes and think of this as John Madden-style analysis, but I often wonder if Christians are really aware of this as much as they should be.

At Pensacola Christian College, I remember once casually asking Mr. Bob Greiner (who has since gone home to be with the Lord) about the rumor that Daryl Hall of the pop music duo Hall and Oates had once attended Mr. Greiner’s alma mater, Bob Jones University.

Mr. Greiner thought a moment.

“I don’t know, but anything’s possible,” he said. “I knew one guy at BJU who was studying for the ministry but is now a member of the Hare Krishna movement.”

Today, I am reminded of some people I know that if you looked at them and read about them, you’d hardly believe they once attended a very conservative Christian college and seemed like people who really loved the Lord.

There have also been the countless stories I’ve heard of or even know of directly of pastors, evangelists and missionaries who left the ministry.

I wonder how many Christians truly grasp that a) Satan hates our guts with all his heart, soul, mind and might and b) He wants to destroy us so that c) He can take with him as many damned souls into the eternal lake of fire as possible.

I knew one guy at PCC who wanted nothing more than to be an evangelist. He is now divorced and while living for the Lord and still attending church, is out of the ministry. Every day I wonder if perhaps that might have changed had I made it a habit of praying for him and being a far better encourager towards him when I roomed with him.

Richard Zowie is a Michigan-based writer. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

  1. August 21, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I firmly believe in satan and that he hates our guts as you put it. I too have wondered if I could’ve made a difference in an acquainted believers life who has since fallen away. Two things come to mind when I go down that road. First, that some people need to take the long way back around to God. It’s just what it takes for them to learn the lessons God has for them. Secondly, (and more disturbing) I remember Matthew 7:13-14, “You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.

    Satan lives in the “difficult” area and that’s is where he tempts us away from the narrow path.

  2. Saint Peter
    August 24, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    What’s a testimony and how is it that one can it be destroyed?

  3. Saint Peter
    August 24, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    oh, and btw, I don’t really believe that Satan hates anybody but himself, and that is the most destructive thing, don’t you think?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

