Home > Uncategorized > Homosexuality: a Christian perspective–first observation

Homosexuality: a Christian perspective–first observation

I’ve been chatting online with one particular Christian friend. I knew “Sammy” back at Pensacola Christian College, and he told me about what he’s up to these days. In previous messages, he and I debated about whether homosexuals serving openly in the military was pragmatic. Sammy felt his friends should have nothing to hide.

And in a private message this past week, one where I asked him some questions about the Christian church and how it deals with gays, Sammy outed himself to me.

He told me about his life growing up, his feelings about being gay and how he has witnessed to witness to gay men (including some who are dying of AIDS) whom, I suspect, would probably never listen to a heterosexual Christian.

Sammy tells me that many Christians have forsaken him. The ironic thing is that in reading Sammy’s testimony, I see far more Christianity than I do in some Christians who can quote large chunks of the Bible.

(Feel free to disagree with me, Condescending Christian).

While I’m not as ultra-ultra-ultra conservative on the gay issue as I used to be (I’ve worked with a few open gays and found them to be far more professional and friendly than some raging heterosexuals I’ve known), I’m in no hurry to jump on the gay rights bandwagon. What I am looking to do, though, is study Scripture and ponder on some areas.

For those Christians who view gays as undesirables who should quarantined and shunned by the church, they should visit the Gospels and read about all the “undesirables” Jesus spent much of His time with (prostitutes, tax collectors and even Samaritans–whom the Jews absolutely despised). They should also re-read the Book of Jonah, which, besides the story about the giant fish swallowing Jonah and putting him back on the path to Nineveh, teaches that God wants the entire world to come to Him–not just the people who act, dress, talk and look the way we think they should.

Richard Zowie is a Michigan-based writer who, though a Christian for 29 years, still has a lot to learn about God, the Bible, the world, life, etc. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

 

  1. Kevin Clark
    October 12, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    You are correct, homosexuals are sinners too. The problem is when they expect everyone else to grant them special rights and civil rights status because of a sin which they choose to partake in. Homosexuality is listed as an abomination in the same chapter in which we’re told that incest and bestiality are also abominations.

    Should they be ostracized for their sinful choice? No more than we should ostracize any other sinner. Should they receive special rights because of their sinful choice? Absolutely not.

  2. Mark
    October 12, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    One should be careful in the way they use the word “choice” and “choose”. For most gay people, they never made the “choice” to be gay. Yes, responsible for their actions, but for people who have no idea about the subject, you should really avoid using the word choice. If perchance you were witnessing to a gay person, they would have just turned you off and discredited anything further you might have to say.
    In regards to the comment about “demanding” rights and privileges, for most gay people it’s about being treated equally as a human being. We can’t serve in the military because of so called MORAL HANGUPS but it’s somehow okay to go and mess around with prostitutes and females while in the military? It’s called SELECTIVE MORALITY and sadly the church is one of the biggest proponents.

  3. Mark
    October 12, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    to add one more thing. I am gay,and I’m not a proponent of gay marriage myself but we do have a saying in my community….Once straight people legalize gay marriage, then we won’t marry straight people any more. 🙂

  4. Kevin
    October 12, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    From a Biblical viewpoint, sin is a choice – therefore, homosexuality, which God condemns as an abomination, is a choice.

    We could argue choice all day, but since I believe firmly in a God that does not make mistakes, the “leaning” towards homosexuality is not normal. It may be a recurring temptation, but that does not make it justifiable.

    As for the military, it does make a difference – especially in housing. They don’t put males and females together in housing during training for a reason. Unfortunately, homosexuality even breaks down that line.

    Those who practice the homosexual lifestyle need the love of Christ, and the grace of Christ, to overcome a sin in their lives – just like everyone else. Just like I do not justify the drug user, prostitute, alcoholic, or pedophile, I do not justify the homosexual lifestyle and claim that it is normal.

  5. October 12, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Kevin: to clarify, when I went through Army basic training in 1996, they did have co-ed barracks. (The army does all-male training, though, for infantry, artillery, armor and combat engineering). The results were predictable: many instances of sex during basic training, and some drill sergeants lost careers over sleeping with recruits.

  6. Kevin Clark
    October 13, 2010 at 6:52 am

    My mistake on the housing then. The results are predictable in those cases and show why that is also a bad idea.

  7. Mark
    October 13, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Kevin. From a Biblical Viewpoint? HA HA HA HA!!! That’s a hoot! You might want to do some more studying. We are ALL born sinners. I didn’t CHOOSE to be born a sinner, but that is the curse brought upon us by one man’s sin entering into the world. If we are all born sinners, and SIN in itself is an abomination (love how you like to throw that word around!) then we all are an abomination, but for God’s saving grace. TRUE.
    However, I am not up to debate you on whether or not you have your facts straight or you are merely parroting what you’ve been raised to say when it comes to the issue that you oviously know nothing about. The subject of this blog is Homosexuality and the church and how it handles people who struggle with being gay. The point is the church is full of people, such as yourself, that don’t know how to minister, witness, or interact with someone who struggles with being gay. You, my friend are the reason that I have to be very wary of when attending church. I challenge you to search withing yourself and ask yourself how you could effectively minister to someone who’s gay. I tell ya, it won’t be easy if you don’t know what you are talking about first.

    • Kevin
      October 13, 2010 at 7:45 pm

      Yes, we are all born sinners – that does not excuse choosing to live a life of consistent sin. That’s the point. Ministering to someone who struggles with the temptation of homosexual sin is the same as ministering to someone who struggles in another area. I don’t cast stones at someone that faces that temptation just because I do not face that temptation myself. I have my own struggles, which are just as vile.

      You brought up the case of the word abomination. I use it because homosexuality is one of the few sins that God directly calls an abomination. All sin being equal in the sight of God; however, I think it behooves us to take note of the ones that God directly calls by such a severe term.

      Do churches always do what is right when dealing with people who struggle with that particular sin? No. Do churches always do what is right when dealing with people who struggle with alcoholism, or drug abuse, or other sexual addictions? The answer is also no. That is the fallibility of humans – we don’t always get it right.

      Should churches take a stand against sinful lifestyles? Yes. Do I expect preachers to preach against drug addiction? Yes. Do I expect preachers to preach against prostitution? Yes. Do I expect preachers to preach against lying? Yes. Do I expect preachers to preach against homosexuality? Yes. Unfortunately, when the truth is preached, sometimes people get hurt. We all get especially hurt when our particular pet sin gets preached against. A lot of the time we will even try to justify it to ourselves. It doesn’t change what the Word of God says – but since Genesis 3 we’ve all been very good at lying to ourselves.

  8. Mark
    October 13, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Now you’re on the right track! 😉

  9. October 13, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    Mark and Kevin: I’m very proud of both of you. This is a sensitive subject, and you’ve both been adults in your disagreements.

  10. Kevin Clark
    October 13, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Oh – I forgot, I’m not supposed to talk to Mark – I’m supposed to shun him 😉 Thank you Richard.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

