Home > Uncategorized > Procrastination, my vice

Procrastination, my vice

“We, the jury, find the defendant, Richard Paul Zowie, guilty of procrastination!”

I consider procrastination to be the Eighth Deadly Sin and wonder how many other Christians out there struggle with procrastination. This is one vice I battle daily. Lately, it’s been getting the better of me.

When it comes to reading the Bible, it seems impossible to unglue myself from my computer or from leisurely activities. There always seems to be far too many other things to do. Before I know it, by the time I have free time, it’s around 11 p.m. at night and I’m far too tired. It’s the same with writing and taking care of chores around the house.

What is the solution? One person has suggested to me the importance of creating lists. Each day, make a list of things you must do. Do not allow yourself any leisure activities until either you’ve completed all the tasks or have knocked out a big chunk of them.

I wish there was some type of drug that could suppress the procrastination gene and unleash the right chemicals in your brain that will make you want to take care of what needs to be done.

Richard Zowie is a Michigan-based writer who, though a Christian for 29 years, still has a lot to learn about God, the Bible, the world, life, etc. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

