Home > Uncategorized > 12-5 Bible reading: Joel, Psalms 35, Proverbs 19, Acts 18-19

12-5 Bible reading: Joel, Psalms 35, Proverbs 19, Acts 18-19

I got off to a late start with this Bible reading, unfortunately. Saturday was pretty stressful in the Zowie household due to our van breaking down. My wife and I were both very frustrated because we’ve had it in twice at one shop and now there are problems again that sound like they have something to with what we thought had already been repaired. We’re supposed to find out today what the problem was, and I pray it’s not too expensive.

So, I went to bed around 11:30 p.m. on Saturday and didn’t wake up until 8:30 a.m. on Sunday. It was one of those fun slumbers where nine hours felt more like five. I had intended to do devotions that morning, but time ran short as my sons and I had to get ready for church (which included getting rides to and from church).

So, that night when my work was finally done for the newspaper, I was able to sit down and read God’s Word.

Joel: On recent broadcasts of Insight For Living (one of my favorite Bible-teaching programs), Dr. Charles Swindoll has been talking about Joel. This is a book I have not read since probably around the time of college when I was making it a point to read the Bible through each year. I read some of the commentary in my Bible about Joel and then read all three chapters. It’s a story about the horrible desolation that will soon come upon Israel if it continues its path of disobedience against the Lord. Very poetic in the way it expresses how devastating it will be, and how its enemies will tear through its lands the way locusts tear through a crop. The book also ends with how things would return to normal if Israel repents and returns to God.

Joel 2:13 says this: “So rend your heart, and not your garments; return to the LORD your God, for He is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness; and He relents from doing harm.”

And, of course, for Israel’s enemies, they will be dealt with. God, of course, allows Israel’s enemies to work in ways to get the nation’s attention if they stray off His path, but when Israel is serving Him, it is a different story.

Psalm 35: This passage was a huge blessing for me as I deal with lots of frustrating issues in my personal life. You get to a point where you have to put things in God’s Hands and move on. I was encouraged and was reminded that for Christians living for God, they have nothing to worry about from their enemies.

Proverbs 19: Proverbs in each chapter is laden with wisdom, and this one is no exception. I was reminded again the importance of being wise, careful and living for the Lord. I also was convicted about making sure I am doing my job as a father (something I was far too lackadaisical on for too long).

My two favorite passages in this chapter:

Verse 8: “He who gets wisdom loves his own soul; he who keeps understanding will find good.”

And verse 11: “The discretion of a man makes him slow to anger, and his glory is to overlook a transgression.”

Acts 18-19: At Corinth, Paul continued preaching the Gospel and came across some who rejected his words. He told them their blood would be on their own heads. You know: while you can preach the Gospel and present it on a clear level, it is still the individual’s responsibility whether or not to accept it. If they reject it, that is their choice.

After receiving a vision from God that he would not be harmed, Paul remained there for a year and a half teaching and preaching. Paul then returned to Antioch and apparently got his hair cut after having taken a Nazarite vow. Anyone know why he took this vow?

Then in the next chapter, Paul teaches about what baptism does, heals the sick.

Some Jewish exorcists then try unsuccessfully to cast out a demon, whose words show the type of reputation Paul has. The demon says to them in verse 15: “Jesus I know, and Paul I know; but who are you?”

Many come to Christ and burn their books on magic, books that totaled 50,000 pieces of silver (I’m no economist, so I have no idea what that equals in today’s money).

No, I’m not a proponent of book burning, but this is a basic principle of the Christian life: if there is something in your life that is hindering your walk with God, get rid of it.

Paul then encountered problems in Ephesus, notably from a silversmith named Demetrius who apparently thought Paul’s call to repent from idol worship and serve the true God would kill his own business of making and selilng silver shrines of Diana. Despite the discord in the city, God was in control.

Richard Zowie is a Christian writer who laments the years wasted by having a Bible that collected dust on a shelf. His goal is, once he completes his long-put off Bible reading plan sometime in the spring or early summer, to read the Bible through again before the end of 2011. Post comments here or e-mail him at richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

