Home > Uncategorized > Iron sharpens iron

Iron sharpens iron

If one thing in life is invaluable, it’s advice from wise friends. I receive a lot of that.

Lately, due to a change in my personal life, I have consulted with friends–guys and ladies and have received input from them. I’ve listened, spoken, been stressed, been near tears. Some have never been married, some are married, some are re-married and some are where I will be probably later this year: divorced and trusting God will someday bring a wonderful Christian lady into my life.

The late Charles Bronson once was quoted as saying he had many acquaintances but no friends. Pity. Friends have helped me to gather up the pieces of my life and to rebuild myself.

Making friends has never been one of my biggeststrengths, and going through this ordeal reminds me of how much I miss my friends who live elsewhere. Among the many: Bob, Chelsea, Valkena, Aaron, Sean, Angie and the two Lances in Texas, Angela in Indiana, Michelle in Connecticut, Rachel in Virginia, Barbara in New York, David in Los Angeles, Jeremy in Michigan…

Some friends have shared very similar experiences with me while some of the ladies (I grew up with two older sisters, an outgoing mother and a father who worked long hours to provide a living, so I tend to open up towards women easier) have provided a listening ear. It is indeed a blessing to have such friends. They have helped me to become a much wiser person.

Richard Zowie is praying for God’s guidance. Post comments here or e-mail them to richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

  1. Barbara Toal
    March 14, 2011 at 9:20 am

    It takes a good friend to have good friends!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

