Home > Uncategorized > Today’s Bible reading in 2 Timothy, Isaiah

Today’s Bible reading in 2 Timothy, Isaiah

I doubled my reading today to get caught up and will be completely back on track by the end of this week–if I stay on top of things and do my Bible reading and don’t fall a willing victim to the Eighth Deadly Sin.

Doubling reading is not something I recommend except for the seasoned, in-shape Bible readers. Otherwise, as you read a passage you’ll see things whiz by and you won’t have the time to study them in-depth. Perhaps in a few years, after I’ve read through the Bible three times, I’ll take my time and read a chapter a day. Or maybe I’ll do my daily reading and then go back to a passage and study it in detail. I counted the amount of passages I read today. By Saturday I’ll be caught up on my Old Testament reading and by Sunday, caught up on the New Testament.

As I read through Isaiah and use a Bible with no commentary, I wonder how much of the judgment God is preparing for the godless nations around Israel is for that time and how much of it is to be fulfilled in the end times. There is mention that the water from both the Nile River and the Mediterranean Sea (which the Nile flows into) will become undrinkable…perhaps that’s when God in Revelation turns a third of the ocean water into blood in the second trumpet judgment and then all of the ocean water and then all of the rest of the water into the blood of a dead person during the second and third bowl judgments?

As tough as it is since I’m not a morning person, the morning really is the best time to read God’s Word. The days are stressful enough without starting them talking to God (or as that one PCC floorleader poetically put it, spending time with the “Holy of Holies”) and listening to what He has to say. So often we forget that Bible reading shouldn’t be viewed as something we as Christians have to do, but rather that it’s time we get to spend with a Creator who wants nothing more than to spend time with us and for us to to get to know Him on an intimate basis.

Richard Zowie will turn 30 years old as a Christian in October and was led to the Lord in mid-October 1981 by Pastor Jim Lilley of Kings Row Baptist Church in Alvin, Texas. Post comments here or e-mail them to richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

