Home > Uncategorized > Caffeine and Bible reading

Caffeine and Bible reading

Caffeine is a drug. One friend told me it’s fatal in its purest form. Thankfully, what we drink in sodas, tea and coffee isn’t in a fatal form.

However, caffeine consumed excessively is not a good thing. I do not see any harm, though, in consuming it in the form of above drinks as a way to get up in the morning.

I thought about this around 6:45 a.m. as I read passages in Isaiah and Hebrews while my sons got ready for school (my wife and I take turns driving them in the morning for Early Bird session). As I read, I found myself re-reading the same verses or reading and not remembering what I read or not comprehending.

One evangelist once said that once he wakes up in the morning, he turns over and gets his Bible and starts reading. It’s commendable he has the energy and discipline for that.

I’m concluding that it is best to read the Word of God in the morning after you are alert and awake. If that means drinking coffee, tea or a soda (or a “pop”, as it’s called in Michigan), fine. If it means getting in some exercise–such as a nice walk–fine. If it means taking a shower, fine.

So, tomorrow morning I will do that–read the Word after I have gotten myself nice and awake.

Richard Zowie is well aware Satan does not want him reading the Bible. Post comments here or e-mail richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.

  1. Kevin
    March 29, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Totally agreed. Also have to add that if reading the Word of God in the evening allows you to better understand what you are reading, that is up to you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

