Home > Uncategorized > An Aussie friend talks about how witnessing can be effective

An Aussie friend talks about how witnessing can be effective

It’s been a few years since I did door-to-door evangelism, and it’s because I got spooked.
 
About 15 years ago, I and a gentleman from church visited an apartment in Beeville, Texas and witnessed to the young man who answered the door. I presented the gospel to “Juan”, who seemed very receptive. He then prayed the sinner’s prayer.
 
Juan nodded when we asked him what he’d done. I recorded his name in my Bible as one of the people I’d led to the Lord.
 
Great news, right?
 
About 10 years later in the public records of the newspaper, I saw Juan’s name mentioned in a crime.
 
Now, it’s possible he received Christ but backslid, and it’s possible we never properly discipled him. It’s also possible he just said some words because that was the path of least resistance.
 
It made me think that door-to-door evangelism is completely useless unless there is a solid method of follow-up and discipleship.
 
Recently, I spoke about this on Facebook with Lyndee, an Australian Christian who also attended Pensacola Christian College. (We never met, but I knew who she was).
 
I told Lyndee: “You know, one thing life has taught me is that there is a very wide spectrum in Christianity. God needs people everywhere. I mean, do you really think an Independent Fundamental Baptist fresh from Pensacola Christian College would succeed trying to pass out gospel tracts at a biker bar?”
 
Lyndee replied with a thoughtful respose:
 
“why waste your time passing out Gospel tracts when they will only end up littering the parking lot. Rather use that money to buy a couple of biker mates a round of beer and sit down and talk with them… not about Jesus at first, but about them. Everyone loves talking about themselves. Find out who they are, what they love, what they hate, and eventually where they hurt. Prove to them you care about them and not some notch in your christian belt (which i know is not what you want, but is how they perceive many witnessing Christians). Witnessing is not a numbers game, its a life long process of relationships in loving people exactly where they are, not where someone else thinks they should be.”
 
You know, even though I don’t drink beer (to be honest, I hate it immensely), I honestly cannot find anything I disagree with in Lyndee’s assessment.
 
It makes me think that if there’s a Christian who prefers this approach, go for it. Bars aren’t my thing, but I’m sure God has others He can use.
 
Tell me, Richard’s Two Shekels reader, is what Lyndee suggests really radical or is it radically filled with theological common sense?
 
I believe it’s definitely the latter.
 
Post comments here or e-mail them to richardstwoshekels@gmail.com.
  1. Lance Tindol
    July 14, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    I totally agree with Lyndee. Too often as Christians, we come off as the ‘holier than thou’ group that beats the non-Christians or non-believers upside the head with God’s word. That is exactly not the way Jesus taught us on how to spread His word. In this fast paced world we live in, all too often we want the cliff’s notes version of the bible and be able to give that to others. Being a Christian is a lifestyle that will keep us on the straight and narrow. Now as we go to witness and tell the Good News to others, we have to slow down and create relationships for those that we are witnessing to to take what we are saying to heart.

    Think of it this way. Think back to some of the most influential people in your life. I would venture to say that those that touched you most took the time and knew you as a person.

    If we continue to approach our faith as a numbers game, we will ultimately lose. The mindset of ‘it’s all about how many we reach’ will hurt the cause because we lose the genuine message that Jesus wants us to spread.

    When we say, “Hey, I spoke to 30 people today about what the Lord has done in my life.” You must ask yourself, “Now how many of them will take my testimony to heart and change their life?” If the answer is, “I don’t know.” Then we need to make that extra effort that someone in our life did for us. Again I would imagine that they took the time to get to know us and what we enjoyed and what pain we carried and then led us to the ultimate healer.

    Bottom line, bars may not be your thing, but a park or the grocery store or the movies may present the perfect opportunity to witness and to tell your testimony to someone who was put I’m your path by God because He knew you could handle it. Remember, you are perfectly made for His purpose. Embrace it and enjoy the ride.

    God Bless you my friend!

  2. Kevin
    July 15, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Hence the reason one of my favorite quotations–“People don’t care how much you know until they know how much you care.”

  3. trevelarabol
    July 15, 2011 at 12:19 am

    Sounds like she speaks from experience 😉

  4. July 15, 2011 at 12:35 am

    Very nice, Trev. 🙂

  5. July 15, 2011 at 1:13 am

    I don’t know about that setting (and the beer would be out for me, too), but I agree with the concept. Door-to-door and passing out tracts aren’t worthless, but too often they cover for the fact that we prefer to live in ivory castles and use them as our claim of witnessing to a world of people we have never met.

    I will admit to being one extremely guilty of living in a spiritual bubble for most of my life. I have to constantly challenge myself to get out of my introverted tendencies and my safe Christian world and invest in the lives of others, not to check off my Christian witnessing duty, but to be the light of Christ in a dismal world, whatever form that light may be that day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

