Home > Uncategorized > Should churches return “back to the basics”?

Should churches return “back to the basics”?

There’s plenty of time to ponder when you attend a church with a relaxed, friendly Sunday school and in a comfortable auditorium where you don’t feel wrong with God because you don’t wear a suit. At church today, I noticed that maybe about 20 percent of the men in attendance wore suits.

As I sat in Sunday school and in church and continued my humble journey to rebuild my walk as I keep what works, discard what doesn’t and be flexible to new things, I wondered if perhaps churches should focus on the basics.

In the circles I’m from, it seems most of the messages–besides salvation–focused on modesty, TV, secular music, abortion and a certain three-letter G-word that rhymes with “Ray”.

I often wonder if perhaps more energy should be spent focusing on the basic issues, such as avoiding things like pride, arrogance, gluttony, impatience and rudeness.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

